Board of Directors



PRESIDENT – Dr. Clay Shorkey, PhD:  Professor Emeritus- School of Social Work, The University of Texas at Austin, TX

VICE PRESIDENT – Jason Mellard, PhD:  Director, Center for Texas Music History, Department of History, Texas State University, San Marcos, TX

TREASURER – Rudy Martinez:  Coordinator,  AT&C Semiconductors, Austin, TX

SECRETARY – Gina Bustos:  Elementary School Educator, Austin Independent School

Beulah Agnes Curry Jones, PhD:  Retired Dean of Fine Arts/Music – Huston-Tillotson College, Austin, TX

Laurence Egle:  CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER ™, Egle Harbor Financial, Round Rock, TX

Pamela Hart:  Jazz Vocalist, Austin, TX

Emmitt W. Hayes,  Jr:  Independent Consultant and  Integral Care Board, Austin and Travis County, Austin TX

Louis Hicks, Jr BFA:  Consultant for Washington D.C. Community Heritage Project and Retired Director, Alexandria Black History Museum, Washington D.C.

Bernadette Phifer:  Retired Director, the George Washington Carver Museum, Cultural, And Genealogy Center, Austin, TX

Joyce Davids Christianson:  Music Teacher & Tour Guide – Crowes Nest Farm


Marilyn Poole:  Attorney at Law, The Fowler Law Firm PC, Austin TX

Forest Coppock: Texas Music Historian,  Antone’s Records, Austin, TX *Emeritus Board member

Bob Livingston: Texas Music International, Austin, TX

Jim Fisher:  Retired Supervisor, City of Austin Museums

Dr. Madeline Maxwell:  Professor of Communications, The University of Texas at Austin

Tim Hamblin:  Video Archivist – Austin History Center, Austin, TX

Dr. Karl Miller:  Prof. Librarian, The University of Texas at Austin

Doug Hanners:  Owner – Austin Record Convention, Austin, TX

Dr. Kevin E. Mooney:  Asst. Professor, Musicology,  School of Music – Texas State University-San Marcos, TX

Saira Morgan: Retired Music Educator  *Emeritus Board member

Chester Rosson:  Contributing Editor – Texas Monthly, Livingston, TX

Sharon Herfurth:  Austin Public Library, Austin, TX  *Emeritus Board member

John Wheat:   Music Archivist – Center for American History, The University of Texas at Austin

Liz Lopez:  Media Consultant, *Emeritus Board member


Bill Cormack: Executive Director, Texas Music Educators Association

Eve Falcon-Korems:   School of Social Work,  Mgr. – Learning Resource Ctr., The University of Texas at Austin

Paul Lake:  President – Austin Chapter of the Texas Music Teachers Association

Alvin O. Patterson:  Band/Orchestra Leader, Anderson High School, Austin TX

Tary Owens:  Texas Music Historian, Catfish Records, Austin, TX

Eve Sunday:  Evolve International Inc – Graphic Design, Austin, TX, *Emeritus Board member